It’s been several weeks and I think it’s time for an update on how things are clearing up for me. πŸ™‚

If my memory serves me correctly, in my last post I had only started that patch that delivered ibuprofen with electrodes. Well, since then I’ve had two more of those 24-hour sessions, totaling three. Those were a good choice to go ahead with, but I should say that the physical therapist is also pretty remarkable. I can tell she actually gave a crap about the problem (which is a bit uncommon, especially since it’s from our on-campus health center). Every time I’d come in she would always have some other ideas about what might be causing the injury and therefore a new exercise for me to try. During my last session with her, which was last Friday, I was prescribed my best exercise yet. While leaning on a desk, stretch out my injured right leg to where only my toes are touching the ground. Then slowly lift the leg until it’s roughly 90ΒΊ to the ground, and then slowly release it back down, but do not let gravity take over. 100 of these per day. I sometimes do a tad more only because I feel that doing a tad more will help speed up the recovery for me. I can’t help but overdo myself all the time, no matter what it is. You know how it is, we think we know better than the PTs. πŸ˜‰

Well, I believe that easy, easy runs and a bit of time off (about every other day) is helping. I’m terribly ecstatic to announce that just yesterday I was able to run about 5.5 miles relatively pain free! Granted, it ended up being like a 13-minute pace and I wanted to walk for one minute every mile, but believe me, this is progress. I really want this to go away, so I’m taking all the necessary precautions, which is why I included the walking even though the pain wasn’t returning. So far, I think it’s helping.

Before yesterdays run, I’ve only been doing 3.5 miles at most. And during those runs, the pain would return around mile 1. But even in those instances, I would walk for a minute or so when the pain level would get to about a 3 out of 10, as the PT had recommended. So a relatively pain-free 5.5 is progress and excitement for me!

So this is my latest news. I’ll be back in almost no time at all. I can feel it. What kills me the most is that I still have great tastes in my mouth from long runs, and I’m craving the hell out of them. To know that your body can handle a 20-miler but you’re debilitated by some ridiculous injury is something that is probably one of the worst feelings anyone can endure. The joy of suffering really knows how to linger in your mind.

