So I went to the Physical Trainer today to get my knee looked at after having a doctors appointment yesterday. As I’ve stated before, I’m not big on going to doctors. There’s no reason for it, but I feel they charge you for things you can figure out on your own. But this situation was different. The pain was going on for far too long.

It turns out that it’s a hamstring injury (yes, even at the point behind that little ball on the side of the knee). The therapist said that it could have originated as a IT-band injury and it had somehow moved to the back of that area. The reason it’s hard to say if that’s the case is because when it first started, it was very difficult to localize — all I felt was a generic, “side of my knee area.” So it’s possible that it was IT-band. But after all the tests, she determined it cannot be the case.

So what I got was this large band-aid looking thing that delivers electric pulses and therefore some medication to the area. I have to keep it on for 24 hours. Afterwards, I’m supposed to ice, ibuprofen, and stretch often. What surprised me about the therapist is that she was actually against not running. She said I have two choices at this point: I can run somewhat “normal” injury mileage (~4 – 5 miles) several days a week, or I can run everyday but keep the mileage low (~2 miles or so). But if I run, I MUST ice after the run. If not, I can get by with icing once a day. Moreover, when I start feeling the pain (on a scale of 1 — 10) at about 3, walk and let the inflammation subside.

I think I’m gonna get about three more sessions of this electric pulse band-aid. I don’t feel anything, but if I let the leg rest, I can feel the pain in the area. Not terribly, but nevertheless feel it. I sure hope this will take care of the pain. I’m tired of the pain and my inability to run. I hate having to do low-mileage runs, but if it’ll make me feel better in the long run, then I’m all for it. I believe the hardest part will be to actually run those low miles. I tend to think, “Well, I feel good, so I’ll just go another half mile.” As you all know, a half mile turns into 5 miles. 🙂

I may head out to RFP with Lisa tomorrow morning for a short walk/light run. She’ll run while I do my light thing. I think it’ll hurt tomorrow, but I’m willing to take her advice and go easy, if for any reason, to see how it feels and behaves.

Hope you’re all well and strong.

