Lately my time has been taken up with school-related issues and therefore has slightly removed me from the running scene. This was back in April, by the way (well, March, too). Now that May is here, my thesis is still hovering above my head, but I fell more organized about it and also feel like there’s a better direction, so I’m not so overwhelmed.

I mention this because April was a rough month for me with school and trying to stay in shape for the two races I took part in. In a way, this was a good thing because if it were not for the races and the need to feel like I needed to get out there and train, I think I would’ve slipped off the wagon for several weeks. It’s unfortunate but I think it’s true.

After the first race, Rockin’ K, I told myself that after Free State, I will take it easy from the racing scene simply because I felt like there was too much stress/pressure to train. I’m not against training, but when my time is consumed by school-related things, it’s hard for me to make time (I have a very hard time dividing my focus when doing something; I either do it the absolute best I can or I lose interest in it after some time—I’d like to think I’m getting better, though). Now that I feel more relaxed and the fog has lifted, I have this urge to compete again. Running and training just to the heck of training and running is great, don’t get me wrong. But there’s something more to it when you involved a level of competition. I feel that’s when we push ourselves the most and truly find out what we’re about. When times are easy, you can’t know who you are or what your limits are. I see it like wartime vs. peacetime. A platoon can train as if in wartime, but mentally they’re not in that moment of stress and therefore it’s hard to truly say what they will do. Now, I’m a firm believer that a platoon or team can train as if in wartime and get incredible results from it. However, the true test is actual wartime. How well was your training in order for you to combat the conditions of war? If the answer is great training, then your results will most likely be in order with your expectations of winning and surviving to tell the story. If the answer is below average, there is a serious issue and one needs to reconsider his intentions or the penalties are dire.

I don’t mean to stray off point, but I see that thought as parallel to casual training and training for something which eventually turns into a race. So needless to say, I’m starting to consider my next race. As of yet, I have no idea what it’ll be, but my guess is that it’ll be something in July (50k at WyCo or something around the range of 50M). Strangely, it’s something I’m craving.

If anyone has any thoughts on summer races, please feel free to drop me a line. I’d be happy to hear about them.

